Latest News
Back to latest news
Seniors defeat Pearses in Championship 09-09-2017


Turloughmore 0-16

Padraig Pearses 0-13

Turloughmore Senior Hurlers overcame a battle hardened Padraig Pearses in a wet Duggan Park on Saturday 16th of September in round 5 of the Senior Hurling Championship.

Due to a clash of colours Turloughmore wore blue and white jerseys on the day and found the opening encounters in the first half difficult as Pearses started the better.

 Pearses flew out of the blocks and landed the first three points of the game. Lee Murphy opened the scoring, before two Cyril Donnellan points, one from a free after good work by Colm Raftery. Matthew Keating pointed for Turlough, but Gary Lally and two more by Donnellan saw Pearses lead by 0-6 to 0-1 after 12 minutes.

Ronan Badger responded with two frees which was followed by a near miss by Brian Murphy where the Pearses Goalkeeper Cian Lawless made a great save to deny a goal.

Pearses went on to hit the next four points (from play) to open a commanding seven point lead after 29 minutes, 0-11 to 0-4. Two important points before half-time for Turloughmore narrowed the gap to a more manageable five, before Referee Christy Browne called a halt to proceedings, 0-11 to 0-6.

Cyril Donnellan went off injured for Pearses at half time with both teams unchanged otherwise. Turloughmore greatly improved in the second half bringing more appetite and bite to their play. Ronan Badger opened with a free with Tomas Flannery responding for Pearses. Vincent Doyle then struck a further point from play following his move to midfield followed by a good save from Lawless in the Pearses goal from Damian Holland who was having a big impact on the game.

 Sean Linnane was introduced by Turloughmore on the 37th minute for Ronan Badger and made an impressive impact scoring two rapid points bringing the gap back to 2 points on a scoreline of 12 points to 10 with Turloughmore in the ascendancy. Tomas Flannery again scored for Pearses with Turloughmore then responding with 4 points in a row from Vincent Doyle, Sean Linnane, Kevin Husse and Matthew Keating pushing Turloughmore 1 point up by the 51st minute.  

Turloughmore latched on two further points from Brian Murphy (free) and Fergal Moore with Pearses failing to add to their tally (despite a goal chance which went closely wide past Paul Dullaghan's post from Tomas Flannery).

With a disjointed first half performance as well as 17 wides in the game, Turloughmore have plenty to work on however will be happy with the second half performance. Best for Turloughmore on the day were, Damian Holland, Sean Linnane, Brian Murphy, Barry McDonagh, Daithi Burke, Darren O' Shaughnessy & Fergal Moore with Kevin Hussey and Vinvent Doyle also contributing well.

 Turloughmore: P Dullaghan, D Joyce, R Burke, M Murphy, K Hussey, D Burke, V Doyle (0-2), S Loftus, F Moore (0-2),  D Holland, M Keating (0-2) , D Shaughnessy, B Murphy (0-2), R Badger, B McDonagh. Subs: S Linnane (0-3), C Shaughnessy, C Burke

 Pearses: C Lawless; K Donnellan, T Kenny, R Lally; R O’Neill, C Raftery (0-1), K Hardiman (0-1); C Donnellan (0-5), C Fahey; R Bellew (0-1), C Ward (0-1), T Flannery (0-1); G Lally (0-1), S Hardiman, L Murphy (0-1). Subs used: S Raftery, E Cunniffe, B Egan, J Gelston.

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter