Latest News
Back to latest news
Turloughmore lose out in Junior C Final 16-10-2016


Turloughmore lose out in Junior C Final

Beagh 1-15  Turloughmore 0-15

Turloughmore, in their first year competing in the Junior C  Championship, may have come up short in the Junior C Final in Loughrea on Saturday, but they came within a whisker of an equalising goal in injury as they gave it their all to the end.

Beagh, with a number of former Senior players in their ranks, led by 1-8 to 0-8 at half time with Peter Perrill’s first half goal proving to be the difference. The goal came after Turloughmore keeper Martin joyce had made a great save from a Dermot McDermott Beagh penalty, but from the ensuing 65, Beagh goaled. Turloughmore had led by 0-7 to 0-3 early in the half before Beagh turned it around by the break.

Beagh, who shot 15 wides, led by 1-11 to 0-9 in the third quarter, but credit to Turloughmore who kept themselves in the game. Indeed, Turloughmore brought the margin back to 3 points on a few occasions in the second half and in the dying minutes Turloughmore staged a late series of attacks but despite the ball being within inches of the goal line, they just couldn’t force it into the net and thus Beagh held on for a 1-15 to 0-15 win.

Turloughmore Scorers: Christy Kearney 0-9 frees, Conor Feeney 0-2, Padraig Quirke 0-2, Sean Hughes 0-1, Shane Morris 0-1 65

Beagh Scorers: Declan McDermott 0-10; 7 frees, PJ McAllen 0-3, Peter Perrill 1-0, Diarmuid Diviney 0-1, Niall Diviney 0-1,

Turloughmore Junior C Panel: 1 Martin Joyce 2.   Darren Morris  3.   Thomas Costello 4.   Damien Burke 5.   Keith Fahy 6.   Justin Brennan 7.   Sean Hughes 8.   Shane Morris 9.   Donncha Hughes 10. Christy Kearney 11. Conor Feeney 12. John O’Brien 13. Keith McGrath 14. Thomas Murphy 15. Brendan Joyce 16. John Garrett 17. Mark McGrath 18. Michael Jr. Holland 19. Jason Murphy 20. Adrian Morris 21. Sean Shaughnessy 22. Stephen Kearns 23. David Rabbitte 24. Martin Spellman 25. Paul Costello 26. Padraig Quirke 27. Padraig Kearney 28. Keith Doyle 29. Darren Hurney

Manager: James Collins  Selectors: Tom Shiel, Tom Murphy, Martin Keating Statistics: Leonie Finn Kitman: Brendan Keane


For photos of the Junior C Final, click here....

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter