Latest News
Back to latest news
Turlough retain Senior A Status 10-10-2016

Turloughmore retain Senior A Status

Turloughmore 1-20 Ardrahan 1-16

Turloughmore maintained their Senior A status for 2017 with this deserved win over Ardrahan in the play-off to remain in the Senior A Championship in Athenry on Saturday. Turloughmore stated well by going into a 0-3 to no score lead with Jamie Holland (free), Sean Loftus and Cian Burke all shooting points. It was 0-4 to 0-3 to Turloughmore on 8 mins before Liam Forde availed of some uncertainty in the Turloughmore defence to goal. Gerry Hennelly, who converted 12 frees during the hour, pointed to leave Ardrahan 1-4 to 0-4 ahead on 10 mins.

From there to the break Turloughmore outscored Ardrahan by 0-5 to 0-3, with Richard Doyle 2, Cian Burke 2, Jamie Holland all finding the target to leave Turloughmore trailing by 1-9 to 0-9 at half time. Indeed, it could have been level as in first half injury time Daithi Burke, who was at centre forward,  was fouled for a penalty and Ardrahan keeper Ciaran Callanan did well to save Jamie Holland’s effort.

Ardrahan were 4 up soon after the restart and by the 45th they led by 1-12 to 0-13 despite only scoring 0-2 from play in the second half. Sean Linnane 2, Conor Shaughnessy & Jamie Holland were the Turloughmore marksmen in that period. Then on 46 minutes, Turloughmore got a goal when Sean Loftus’s well struck lineball appeared to go all the way to the net to put his side 1-13 to 1-12 ahead.

Between the 51st and 57th minutes the winners outscored Ardrahan by 0-4 to 0-2 with Ronan Badger, Richard Doyle, Mathew Keating and Sean Loftus all getting good scores to leave Turloughmore 1-17 to 1-14 ahead. But Ardrahan, given the prize at stake, didn’t yield and points form Cianan Fahy and Hennelly had them back to 1-17 to 1-16 three minutes into injury time.

But Turloughmore finished strongly, and 3 excellent points in the final two minutes from Sean Linnane and Jamie Holland (2) helped to see out the game for Turloughmore on a 1-20 to 1-16 final score.

Thus, the 12 teams in Senior A for 2017 are:

Gort, St Thomas, Loughrea, Craughwell, Sarsfields, Portumna, Mullagh, Tommie Larkins, Cappataggle, Pearses, Turloughmore, Liam Mellows or Castlegar. Castlegar and Liam Mellows meet in the second of the play-offs to determine Senior A status.

Turloughmore: Paul Dullaghan, Phillip Doyle, Ronan Burke, Dara Joyce, Fergal Moore, Jamie Holland 0-5; 0-3 frees,  Sean Greaney, Sean Loftus 1-3, 1-0 Sideline cut, Daniel Burke, Richard Doyle 0-3; 0-2 frees, Daithi Burke, Sean Linnane 0-3, Darren O Shaughnessy, Ronan Badger 0-1 free, Cian Burke 0-3. Subs: Conor Shaughnessy 0-1 for O’Shaughnessy, Matthew Keating 0-1 for Greaney

Ardrahan scorers: Gerry Hennelly 0-12, all frees, Liam Forde 1-1, Maurice Callanan 0-1, Cianan Fahy 0-1, Conor Cosgrave 0-1

Ref: E Shaughnessy

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter