Latest News
Back to latest news
All Star Hurling Award Nominees 07-10-2016

Champions Tipperary out in front with 15 nominees for the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star hurling awards

Waterford, Kilkenny, Galway, Clare, Wexford, Cork and Limerick all have nominees.

TIPPERARY’S ENTIRE ALL-Ireland winning team have been nominated for the 2016 GAA-GPA Opel All-Star hurling awards.

The 15 Premier players have been selected as the champions lead the way in this year’s 45-player shortlist.

All-Ireland semi-finalists and league finalists Waterford are next with nine nominees, while Leinster champions and All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny have eight players nominated.

There are six Galway players in contention along with three from league champions Clare.

Wexford have two nominees and there are one apiece from Cork and Limerick.

The team will be selected next month with the awards presented at a banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday 4 November.

The list of nominees in full is:


1. Colm Callanan (Galway)

2. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

3. Darren Gleeson (Tipperary)


1. Cian Dillon (Clare)

2. Daithi Burke (Galway)

3. Padraig Mannion (Galway)

4. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

5. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)

6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

7. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)

8. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

9. James Barry (Tipperary)

10. Michael Cahill (Tipperary)

11. Seamus Kennedy (Tipperary)

12. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

13. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

14. Noel Connors (Waterford)

15. Tadgh de Búrca (Waterford)

16. Shane Fives (Waterford)

17. Philip Mahony (Waterford)

18. Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)


1. David Burke (Galway)

2. Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny)

3. Michael Breen (Tipperary)

4. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

5. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

6. Kevin Moran (Waterford)


1. Colm Galvin (Clare)

2. Tony Kelly (Clare)

3. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

4. Joe Canning (Galway)

5. Conor Cooney (Galway)

6. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

7. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

8. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

9. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

10. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

11. Dan McCormack  (Tipperary)

12. John McGrath (Tipperary)

13. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

14. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

15. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

16. Pauric Mahony (Waterford)

17. Michael Walsh (Waterford)

18. Lee Chin (Wexford)


Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter