Latest News
Back to latest news
Junior A’s continue on the winning road 29-06-2016

Junior A’s continuing on the winning road.

Turloughmore 2.16  Salthill 1.12.

Turloughmore took on Salthill in the third round of the Junior A championship played in Kenny Park Athenry on Saturday evening. Turloughmore were hoping for their third win.

Turloughmore started the brightest and went on the attack with a goal chance by James Collins but it was saved on the line. The ball went up the pitch and Salthill had a goal chance themselves but it was saved by Joe Hession who pulled off some excellent saves throughout the match. Turloughmore finally got on the score sheet with a free from David McDonagh.  David McDonagh then pointed another free after Sean Collins was fouled.  Cormac Whelan pointed for Turloughmore with a well taken score out at the corner flag. Danny Burke was fouled as the Salthill goalie hit the ball out after Cormac’s score. David McDonagh converted the free. Turloughmore were on the upper hand and soon Cormac Whelan was on the score sheet again with a well taken goal after great work from Danny Burke and Brian Holland. Salthill had patches of good play where they were putting pressure on the Turloughmore backs. Salthill were coming into the game and got a few scores on the board. A great catch and lay off by Brian Holland to Danny Burke who was then subsequently fouled and David McDonagh converted the free. Salthill scored a few more points before hitting the back of the Turloughmore net. Cillian Hurney responded and was to be the last score of the half. The team were level at 1.7 a piece at half time.

Turloughmore had the wind in the second half and made excellent use of it. Salthill got the score of the half which was one of the four points they scored in the second half. Turloughmore and Salthill did go point for point in the first ten minutes before Turloughmore started to pull away. Turloughmore scored points through Cillian Hurney and David McDonagh. Turloughmore’s backs were being put under pressure but the backs defended very well. After the defence did well to clear the ball from their lines Cormac Whelan struck the net for the second time. Cormac Whelan followed his goal up with a point straight after. David McDonagh pointed twice again before Leonard Fay blew the full time whistle. Turloughmore 2.16 Salthill 1.12


Joe Hession, Ultan Hurney, Paul Hession, Ronan O’Shaughnessy, Sean Collins, Brian Holland, Niall Murphy, Danny Burke, Cillian Hurney, Cormac Whelan, James Collins, David McDonagh,  Eoin Whelan Paul Kearns, Brian Callanan, 

Substitutes:  Ronan Duffy, Jamie Joyce and Gearóid Linnane.


Stephen Cullinane, Diarmud O hAoidh, Tommy Roche, John Kelly, Ciaran O’Dwyer, Michael Hyland, Michael Collins, Neil Hyland, Jack Larkin, Ross Gorey, Shane Kelly, Ciaran O’Connell, Kevin O’Connell, Cathal Keane. Substitutes: John Morrissey, David Mannion, Conor Donoghue, Lorcain Ó Maoileannaigh and Matthew Keane.

Report by Leonie Finn


Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter