Latest News
Back to latest news
U14 A Shield Final 2016 - Report 03-06-2016

u-14 win.jpg

U14 A Shield Final 2016

Turloughmore 1-10, Gort 1-6

Turloughmore won the Ocean Hygiene Supplies and Packaging U14 A Shield title in Kenny Park Athenry on Thursday evening after a fine performance in a closely fought encounter with Gort. This was the third meeting of the sides this year and there was little between the sides in a well contested game.

Turloughmore got off to a good start and went 1-4 to no score up on 12 minutes. Dan Conneely opened the scoring, and after Turloughmore goalkeeper Darragh Walsh made a good save from Gort’s James Gormally, Turloughmore when down field and Cian Shaughnessy shot to the net from close range.

Evan Farrell powered up field to shoot a great score, before Cian Shaughnessy added a point to leave Turloughmore 7 points in front. Jack Linnane opened Gort’s account on 13 minutes and the same player saw a rasping effort deflected over by goalkeeper Darragh Walsh soon after. 

Gort had it back to 1-4 to 0-3 on 14 minutes, but a well taken Sean O Hanlon point had Turloughmore 1-5 to 0-3 ahead 3 minutes from the interval. However Patrick Commins shot 2 points – one a beauty from play – to leave Gort just 1-5 to 0-5 behind at half time.

Cian Shaughnessy stretched Turloughmore 3 ahead 5 minutes into the second half, before Gort struck for a crucial goal when James Gormally finished to the net from close range. It was game on now, but Turloughmore responded well.

Sean O Hanlon and Patrick Commins swopped scores to leave it at 1-8 to 1-6 14 minutes into the second half. But, to their credit, Turloughmore held Gort scoreless for the final 6 minutes, while adding 3 points themselves.

Sean O Hanlon shot a free and a 65 as a resolute Turloughmore defence, with Oisin Francis, Evan Farrell and Cathal Shaughnessy to the fore, withstood late Gort Pressure. Subs Cillian Whelan and Evan Kelly played their part before Seanie Connolly pointed the insurance score in injury time to wrap up a 1-10 to 1-6 win. 

Afterwards Galway Juvenile Chairman Padraig Lohan presented the Shield to Turloughmore Captain Oisin Francis, while the Ocean Hygiene Supplies & Packaging Man of the Match Award was presented to Cian Shaughnessy.

Well Done to all concerned!!

Turloughmore: Darragh Walsh, Conor Fahy, Oisin Francis, Conor O Brien, Cathal Shaughnessy, Evan Farrell 0-1, Darren O Brien, Keith Maloney, Kian Cummins, Sean O Hanlon 0-4, 1 free & 1 65, Niall McCabe, Sean Connolly 0-1, Dan Conneely 0-1, Eanna Kelly, Cian Shaughnessy 1-3, Cillian Whelan, Evan Kelly, Matthew Tarpey, Joey Cunniffe, Conor Gill, Dillon Cowap, Iarlaith O Neachtain, Hugh Crowley, Evan Mullaly.

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter