Latest News
Back to latest news
Success in U17 Celtic Challenge - Big Turlough Inv 07-05-2016

Galway North U17 Celtic Challenge Panel 2016 (1).jpeg

Celtic U17 Challenge

Galway North 4-13 Roscommon 1-6


The opening round of the Celtic Challenge U17 Tournament saw Galway North emerge victorious over Roscommon in Ballyforan on Wednesday evening, though the margin of defeat was flattering to the winners as the hosts were very much in the game until a two goal burst early in the second half saw Galway North home.

A Martin Cullen goal on 10 minutes helped Galway North into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead on 13 mins, despite playing into the wind. Well taken scores from Conor Fahey and Conor Newell helped Galway North build a 1-6 to 0-3 lead as Sean Bleahene dominated before Roscommon’s Oisin Keenan batted home a Roscommon goal to leave just 3 in it on 26 mins. However, a Conor Fahey goal helped Galway North into a 2-7 to 1-5 lead at half time.

Daniel Staunton shot a Roscommon free on the restart, but it was to prove their sole second half score. And following a good Ronan McDonagh save, 2 quick fire goals from Conor Newell and Darragh Glynn had Galway North 4-9 to 1-6 ahead on 41 minutes.

The game finished with Darragh Glynn, Karl Conneely a brace and Conor Fahey all adding scores to level Galway North winners by 4-13 to 1-6.

Scorers: Galway North Conor Fahey 1-5 (0-2 free), Martin Cullen 1-2, Conor Newell 1-1, Darragh Glynn 1-1, Ger Flahive 0-2 (0-1 free, 0-1 65), Karl Conneely 0-2.

Scorers Roscommon: Oisin Keenan 1-0, Daniel Staunton 0-3 frees, Ben McGahon 0-1, Brendan Mulry 0-1, Mickey Joe Egan 0-1


North Galway Under -17 Hurling Panel

Ronan McDonagh (Turloughmore) Cillian Mannion (Ballygar)

Darragh Daly (Athenry) Sean Lyons (Turloughmore)

Cian O’Toole (Annaghdown) Sean Bleahene (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

Jason Walsh (Annaghdown) Sylvester Zwierczyk (Ballygar)

Martin Cullen (Athenry) Karl Conneely (Turloughmore)

Ger Flahive (Mountbellew-Moylough) Conor Fahey (Padraig Pearses)

Cathal Cooley (Abbeyknockmoy) Daniel Loftus (Turloughmore)

Conor Newell (Sylane) Pierce McDonagh (Ballygar)

Darren Collins (Athenry) Darragh Glynn (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

Diarmuid Conway (Annaghdown) Cian Higgins (Sylane)

Sean Keating (Mountbellew-Moylough) Colm Flaherty (Abbeyknockmoy)

Sean Coleman (Athenry) Barry Callanan (Turloughmore)


Manager: Niall Canavan

Coach: Joe Hession

Selector: Tom Thomas

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter