Latest News
Back to latest news
NHL Deise and Tribe share the spoils 01-01-1900

ronan burke.jpg

NHL Deise and Tribe share the spoils

Turloughmore duo Fergal Moore and Ronan Burke saw action as an injury-time Gavin O’Brien point secured Waterford this 0-24 to 1-21 draw with Galway at Walsh Park.

The hosts were already through to the last eight of the competition – where they will face Wexford – while the result in Thurles today meant the Tribe needed a landslide victory to have any chance of overhauling Tipperary in the battle for fourth place.  As things transpired, a second successive draw sees the westerners finish fifth from six, which means they will face bottom side Cork in the 1A/1B relegation play-off in two weeks. A crowd of 5,029 attended this game.

Niall Burke’s rocket to the roof of the net two minutes before the break handed the Tribesmen a 1-10 to 0-12 interval lead, with Joe Canning slotting four first-half points for the visitors.

But Na Desie fought back in the third quarter to lead by 0-19 to 1-13, with the outstanding Shane Bennett notching six from play to that stage and Maurice Shanahan leaving three between the teams with his eighth score and first from play.

A late Galway surge culminated in points from Cathal Mannion (2), substitute Conor Whelan and inspirational captain David Burke as Micheal Donoghue’s men led by 1-21 to 0-23 with two minutes left. But O’Brien had the last say for the holders deep into added time.

Waterford - I O’Regan; C Gleeson, S McNulty, S Roche; K Moran, T De Burca, G O’Brien (0-1); A Gleeson, S O’Sullivan; S Bennett (0-6), T Ryan (0-1), T Devine (0-1); B O’Halloran (0-3), M Shanahan (0-9, 8f), C Roche (0-1). Subs: M Kearney (0-2) for A Gleeson, J Dillon for C Roche, Philip Mahony for S O’Sullivan, Pauric Mahony for T Ryan.

Galway - J Skehill; P Hoban, J Hanbury, F Moore; A Tuohy, David Burke (0-2), D Collins; A Harte (0-1), D Glennon (0-2); J Canning (0-6, 4f), N Burke (1-3), J Flynn (0-1); C Mannion (0-2), E Burke (0-2), A Smith. Subs: R Burke for P Hoban, C Whelan (0-2) for A Smith, R Cummins for E Burke, S Moloney for J Flynn.

Referee - B Gavin.

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter