Latest News
Back to latest news
Galway Draw with Tipperary in League 13-03-2016

Fergal Moore.jpg

Fergal Moore and Daithi Burke were part of the Galway defence as Joe Canning scored 1-11 but it wasn’t enough as a last minute point from John O’Dwyer earned Tipperary a draw in a pulsating match in Pearse Stadium. Canning looked to have won it with a brilliant point from a sideline but O’Dwyer had the final say to level it in this Allianz Division 1A hurling league encounter. The result means either Tipperary or Galway next Sunday will claim the last league quarter-final spot on offer in Division 1A and the other will face into a relegation final against Cork.

Tipperary got the perfect start through Niall O’Meara’s third minute goal and they led 1-9 to 0-5 after 28 minutes but Canning’s goal two minutes into injury time kept Galway in contention.The Portumna man shrugged off the challenge of Ronan Maher before burying the ball into the top corner of Darren Gleeson’s net. A pointed free from Canning a moment later meant Galway were just a point behind at the break with Tipperary leading 1-10 to 1-9.Tannian drove a low shot past Gleeson in the 42nd minute to grab Galway’s second goal but Tipperary stayed in the hunt with John McGrath accurate from placed balls.
The game was in the melting point until the very end with the teams exchanging scores and cancelling each other out.

Canning thought he’d claimed Galway’s second league win of the campaign before O’Dwyer ensured the spoils were shared.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 1-11 (0-8f, 0-1 s-l), Niall Burke 0-4, Jason Flynn 0-3, Iarla Tannian 1-0, Davy Glennon 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: John McGrath 0-6 (0-5f), Niall O’Meara 1-0, Michael Breen 0-3, Noel McGrath 0-3, Brendan Maher 0-2, Adrian Ryan 0-2, John O’Dwyer 0-2, Daire Quinn 0-1, Cathal Barrett 0-1, Padraic Maher 0-1, Barry Heffernan 0-1.

Galway: 1. James Skehill (Cappatagle 2. Paul Hoban (Loughrea) 24. Andy Smith (Portumna) 4. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore) 5. Gearóid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree) 6. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore) 7. Aidan Harte (Gort) 8. David Burke (St Thomas’) 9. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan) 10. Conor Whelan (Kinvara) 11. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree) 12. Davy Glennon (Mullagh) 13. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh) 14. Joe Canning (Portumna) 15. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkin’s) Subs: 25 Richie Cummins (Gort) for Tannian (54) 22. Eanna Burke (St Thomas’) for Whelan (61) 23. Padraig Brehony (Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry) for Smith (63)

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter