Latest News
Back to latest news
Sean Linnane wins Fitzgibbon Cup 28-02-2016
2016 Fitzgibbon Cup Final

Mary Immaculate College Limerick 1-30
University of Limerick 3-22
(after extra time)

Well done to Turloughmore's Sean Linnane who picked up a Fitzgibbon Cup
Medal in Cork yesterday. A Classic Fitzgibbon Cup final yesterday afternoon that
needed 30 minutes of extra-time eventually concluded with Mary Immaculate
College winning the title for the first time. The game finished level at
1-18 to 3-12 at the end of normal time, it was 1-27 to 3-21 at the end of
extra-time before eventually Mary I surged clear in the additional period of
extra-time. Darragh O'Donovan nailed a free in the 88th minute to put Mary I
in front before Cian Lynch added the insurance score to seal Mary I's
two-point victory. Sean Linnane Scored three excellent points in the final.

Scorers for Mary I: D Hannon (1-12, 0-9 frees); C Lynch (0-5, 0-1 free); D O’Donovan (0-1 free), S Linnane, D Reidy (0-3 each); D Corry, J Meagher, S Cahill, T Gallagher (0-1 each).

Scorers for UL: J McGrath (2-7, 0-5 frees, 0-1 ’65); T Heffernan (0-6); T Morrissey (1-1); C Martin, K Hehir, A McGuane (0-2 each); J Forde, C McInerney (0-1 each)

Mary I: M O Conghaile (Galway); A Ryan (Tipperary), R English (Limerick), E Quirke (Clare); J Meagher (Tipperary), R Maher (Tipperary); C Galvin (Clare), D O’Donovan (Limerick); S Linnane (Galway), C Lynch (Limerick), D Reidy (Limerick); D Hannon (Limerick), N O’Meara (Tipperary), D Corry (Clare).

Subs: M O’Neill (Clare) for Galvin (41 mins, inj), T Gallagher (Tipperary) for Reidy (50), S Cahill (Limerick) for O’Donovan (54), S Kennedy (Tipperary) for Linnane (60), D Reidy (Limerick) for Quirke (60), D O’Donovan (Limerick) for O’Meara (69), S Linnane (Galway) for Gallagher (74), T Gallagher (Tipperary) for Hannon (79).

UL: P Maher (Tipperary); S Roche (Galway), J Browne (Clare), G Ryan (Clare); B Heffernan (Tipperary), J Forde (Tipperary), B Stapleton (Tipperary); A McGuane (Clare), K Hehir (Clare); D Fitzgerald (Clare), J McGrath (Tipperary), C Martin (Kilkenny); K O’Brien (Limerick), T Morrissey (Limerick), C McInerney (Clare).

Subs: T Heffernan (Tipperary) for Fitzgerald (41 mins, inj), G Hegarty (Limerick) for Stapleton (43), A Murphy (Kilkenny) for O’Brien (57), M Casey (Limerick) for Hehir (60), P Ryan (Limerick) for Forde (60), B Maher (Tipperary) for McGuane (72), PJ Scully (Laois) for Murphy (78).

Referee: J Owens (Wexford).

Fergal Maher Cup Final:

IT Sligo 4-12 (24) GMIT Letterfrack 0-13 (13)

Well Done also to Jamie Holland who was part of the GMIT Letterfrack team
that reached the Fergal Maher Cup final today. In the end IT Sligo proved
to be too strong but well done to all concerned.

Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter