Latest News
Back to latest news
Well Done Daithi! 05-11-2015


The GAA and GPA in association with Opel are delighted to confirm the 2015 Hurling All-Stars with reigning All-Ireland champions Kilkenny leading the way with a total of seven awards on the back of their recent final victory of Galway.

Beaten finalists Galway have been awarded four positions on the coveted 15 while the remainder go to Waterford (three) and Tipperary (one) meaning a total of four counties are honoured in the selection.

Of Kilkenny’s haul of seven, Joey Holden and Ger Aylward collect their first ever awards while Paul Murphy lands his fourth.

In total there are seven first time recipients and five survivors from the 2014 team – with Séamus Callanan the only non-Kilkenny player to receive awards in both seasons.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Aogán Ó Fearghail congratulated the shortlisted 15. He said: “On behalf of the GAA I congratulate the hurlers who have made this year’s shortlist. These awards are earned on the back of sublime performances which are the by-product of incredible commitment to the game.”

“The recipients light up our summer and provide our young players and supporters with role models to aspire to. The awards are richly deserved as is the status that accompanies them.

“A special word of thanks also to Opel for their ongoing support of the awards.”

GPA Chief Executive Dessie Farrell added: "Congratulations to the GAA/GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel who have helped light up the 2015 campaign.

“It is a very special award for the individual player and while the winners will be the first to acknowledge the collective role of their team mates, they can be very proud of their individual performances.

“We look forward to seeing who the players have chosen as the Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year. Thanks to our loyal sponsors Opel and MD Dave Sheeran for their outstanding backing of the scheme. Thanks to our selection committees and to all the county hurlers for their contribution to the 2015 season."

Dave Sheeran MD Opel Ireland added: “As proud supporters of the sport and the official car partner of the GAA and GPA, it gives me great pleasure on behalf of Opel to acknowledge the outstanding individual contributions of this year’s Opel sponsored GAA/GPA Hurling All-Stars.

“The 2015 hurling championship season was full of high drama with an exhibition of outstanding individual performances.  Congratulations to the 15 players whose commitment and talent makes them well-deserved recipients of this year's award.”

The Football Selection will be announced live on RTÉ One television on Friday evening as will the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year winners in both codes.


2015 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel


1. Colm Callanan (Galway)
2. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
3. Joey Holden (Kilkenny)
4. Noel Connors (Waterford) 
5. Daithí Burke (Galway)
6. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford) 
7. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)
8. Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)
9. David Burke (Galway)
10. Cathal Mannion (Galway) 
11. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
12. TJ Reid (Kilkenny) 
13. Ger Aylward (Kilkenny) 
14. Séamus Callanan (Tipperary) 
15. Maurice Shanahan (Waterford)


For more information contact:

Alan Milton GAA Head of Communications on 01 8658615

or Seán Potts GPA Head of Communications on 01 8575686



Back to latest news
Sponsers Ad Galway Sports Medicine Centre
Facebook twitter
Lotto Draw
Upcoming Events
News Letter